New Horsescotland Chair and Board Directors

On Thursday 27 October, at the SRUC Oatridge Campus, Horsescotland held their Annual General Meeting with a great turnout from Member Bodies.  

Horsescotland are delighted to announce that Patrick Print, OBE FBHS has been appointed by our Board to be our new Chair. Patrick brings a great deal of experience to the role of Chair. He is a member and Fellow of the British Horse Society (BHS). Patrick was awarded his OBE in 2011 for services to the equestrian sector and is a former British Equestrian Council member.  As BHS Chief Assessor, mentor and trainer of professionals in the equestrian industry Patrick is well placed to help progress equestrianism in Scotland.

The AGM also resulted in two new Board Directors appointed to our Board as well as Gillian Elliott, an existing Board Director being re-elected in line with the requirements of our existing Articles of Association. The new Board Directors will join our existing Board and new Chair in working incredibly hard and very closely with Horsescotland staff, all our Member Bodies and partners to ensure the continued development of the Scottish Equestrian sector as well as the delivery of Horsescotland’s Strategic Plan.

The following nominees were successfully appointed as new Directors to the Board of Horsescotland:

Allan Lundmark – nominated by The Trekking and Riding Society of Scotland (TRSS)

By profession, Allan is a Town Planner with extensive project management experience in the U.K, Europe and China.

For over twenty years he has worked with Scottish Government and local authority policy makers gaining extensive expertise.

Allan is the current Chair of the Trekking and Riding Society of Scotland (TRSS) and can therefore represent “the grass roots” of equestrian sports and leisure activities.  Trekking and Riding Centres play a critical role in introducing new entrants to equestrian sports, particularly for people who do not come from an equestrian background.

Colin Sykes – nominated by Scottish Endurance Riding Club (SERC)

During his time with Scottish Endurance Riding Club (SERC), Colin is the current SERC Chair and has also served as Chair of the Borders branch for two years, as well as five years on the central committee.

Colin is looking forward to making the most of every opportunity working along with all the Scottish branches. He has ridden for Scotland on two occasions, as well as organising routes for the Scottish champs on three occasions.

Colin is excited about helping different disciplines to hold joint events and training to ensure a better quality service is provided to the Scottish Equestrian Sector.

Additional information about our existing Board Directors can be found on the horsescotland website at .

Three existing Board Directors, including our current Chair stood down at the AGM. Horsescotland would like to thank Ronnie Young MBE, Stephen MacGregor and Cecilia Gladwyn for all their hard work and dedication throughout their time on the Board.

Related News